Three cheers for Spring!

If I was paid a nickel for every blog post that I intend to make, well… I would have a lot of nickels by now. But alas, life catches up, and I seem to have far more words floating in my head than I can manage to fit on paper in 24 hours each day. Here’s a tribute to the highlights of Spring 2015!

 

Stonehenge on the Equinox

Cici and Andrea Stonehenge

 

In case you missed that post, check it out here.

Isle of Man

20150407_095700

See Ben’s post here for more pictures & the rest of the story.

 

Lake District

20150408_184740

And see his post here about the “walking” (British word for hiking) in Lake District.

 

Adventures in Scotland

from Glasgow to Edinburgh with Gretchen & Joan

20150419_134452

 

Theatre bingeing

My love of theatre and the performing arts was treated quite well when I lived in A2, and it has only grown since moving to London. I was probably averaging about 1 show every 6 weeks… until I introduced Gretch & Joan to the West End. After a thrilling night with front row seats to Memphis, we decided that the 2nd of their two day visit to London should be spent going to a matinee (Billy Elliot) and an evening performance (Agatha Christie’s Mousetrap).  Gotta make the most of those London minutes!!

IMG_20150415_192659757

As a student, I have the pleasure of tapping into the crazy-cheap student tickets with my last my last 6 shows ranging from £0 to£5 each. Just as golfing in Jackson, MI can be cheaper than going to the movie theater, scoring student tickets for the West End can be less expensive than meeting up at the pub. The more that I indulge however, the less I am able to shut my mind off and enjoy the show.   (Well… let’s be real. I don’t think I was ever the type to just shut my mind off.) I described part of this when I spoke of Matilda.  And I think it has become even more noticeable as I indulge. Consider, for example, the Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night. (The Spark Notes summary is here if you haven’t seen the show or read the book.) While the 12 year old girls sitting next to me were trying to solve the mystery during intermission and gushing over how “Christopher is so good at Maths*!!” after the final curtain call, my mind had drifted down some other paths.

 

  • How do we as a society treat people who fall outside of “normal”? From an early age, we learn to be tolerant of people that are different from us. This earns us the badge of being civil. What is the difference between being tolerant and being kind?
  • What responsibilities do parents have to their children? Do these responsibilities depend on the child’s individual needs and talents? I was particularly interested in the contrast between Christopher’s mother and father. The father stayed with him the whole time, but there were some obvious parent / child clashes made more frustrating by misunderstanding Christopher’s autism. The mother—overwhelmed by having an autistic child—copes by having an affair and moving away with the new man, but continues to express her never-ending love for Christopher through letters.

[*Brits say Maths instead of Math. This still hasn’t stopped bringing a smile to my face. 🙂 ]

If I ever become bored, I think I shall develop a lecture series about Social Science, Health, and Medicine in the West End.

 

…And reliving the excitement of seeing London for the first time through the eyes of visitors

Featured Image: from the Columbia Road Flower Market

Leave a Reply

