Rodzina

I was feeling quite good about the progress I was making on my dissertation and medical school apps, so in true Andrea-logic, I decided it would be a good idea to add another dose of adventure. Herein began my grand idea to plan a 12 day trip to one of my favorite spots in the world: Poland.

 

Between junior and senior year, I had the wonderful opportunity to study Polish language, history, and literature in Krakow. If you think Disney World has a touch of magic, then Tinker Bell must have dumped a whole bag of her dust on Krakow. Unlike many of it’s neighbors, Krakow was not bombed during WW2. Thus, the history is astonishingly well-preserved. Plus, the 14th century Wawel castle even includes a good dragon story. Win, win, win.

 

Despite these wonders that Krakow offers, northern Poland (Gdansk and surrounding areas) holds a larger part of my heart. It is from this region that my great-grandparents voyaged to the US with their two children (my Grandma Elizabeth Berkemeier’s oldest siblings) and whatever other material goods they could fit in their laundry-sized basket. There were no internet forums that provided insider details about the ‘American Dream’ or skype to call your family when you safely arrived. Just one way tickets and host of prayers.

 

Although the blood ties to Poland objectively grow more dilute with each passing generation, as I profess in my dissertation, my understanding of family… and parenting… and even life itself go beyond a DNA based-definition.

 

Z Bogiem i do zabaczenia,
Andrea xx

 

 

A small photo essay to share highlights of this visit:

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

